Girl Power Anthems (For All Ages)

My 4 year old sister loves music, so I created a fun playlist we could both enjoy.  It can be tough to find music with a good dance beat and positive girl power lyrics.  This inspired some exploring on the internet and discovery of a few new artists.  Here are some of my top picks from the final playlist.  I specifically chose lyric videos, so you can check out all the lyrics for yourself:

 

1. Postcard – Bridgit Mendler

Postcard is a real girl power song.  The lyrics are about rejecting gender roles and being true to yourself.  It’s sweet and fun and a little gutsy.  More of Bridgit’s songs on the playlist include City Lights, and We Can Change the World  and Turn Up the Music which are both from Bridgit’s band Lemonade Mouth.

 

2. Lindsey Stirling – Electric Daisy

After hearing this song, my sister listened to it on repeat for a while and since then she’s often asked for the “violin song”.  Lindsey is seriously talented and this is my absolute favorite track (and my sister’s too).  It’s so upbeat and pretty much always puts me in a good mood.  Plus I got the chance to see her live recently, and she was so sweet and put on a great, fun show.  Other favorites include her cover of Nicki Minaj’s Starships, and her version of Rihanna’s “We Found Love” (Lindsey changed that lyric to “We found love in a whole new place”, and the music video is wonderful.  I highly recommend checking it out.)

 

3. Sweet Sixteen – Hilary Duff

Sweet Sixteen is one of those pure bubble-gum pop songs.  It’s all about celebrating life and having fun and enjoying being a girl.  Hilary Duff has a good couple other songs like that, like Wake Up and I Am.

 

4. We Are Who We Are – Little Mix

We Are Who We Are is a great party anthem song, and I love that it honors moms too.

 

5. Real Girl – Mutya Buena

Real Girl is another song about loving who you are.  It’s got more of a hip-hop vibe, and is really fun to dance to.

 

6. Everybody Got Their Something – Nikka Costa

Everybody Got Their Something is about how everyone has something special about them.  Musically, It’s got a more soulful groove to it.

 

7. I Am Not My Hair – India.Arie and P!nk

This last one is slower than all the others, but has to be included.  India.Arie and P!nk are two of my most favorite women in the world, and my sister seems to play this more often than other similarly paced songs.  The energy between India.Arie and P!nk creates a real sisterhood vibe within the song.  The song is also about being who you are and gets more specific than the others: “I am not my hair, I am not this skin, I am not your expectations […] I am the soul that lives within.”  India.Arie’s songs Video, A Beautiful Day, and I Choose, are also wonderful.

What are some of your favorite songs?  Do you have any favorite girl power tracks?

Leave a Reply

